Iowa caucuses: Lead on vote for Buttigieg (26.8%) and Sanders (25.2%)

Last updated on 14 Απριλίου, 2021 at 08:56 μμ

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!
iowa vote caucuses

Pete Buttigieg and Bernie Sanders are leading in the first vote to choose the Democratic candidate to run against President Donald Trump in November’s election.

The vote in Iowa has been chaotic, beset by technical problems and delays in reporting results.

Iowa’s Democratic Party said data from 71% of precincts showed Mr Buttigieg on 26.8%, with Mr Sanders on 25.2%.

Elizabeth Warren was third on 18.4% and Joe Biden fourth on 15.4%.

Amy Klobuchar was on 12.6%, and Andrew Yang on 1%, according to the other preliminary results released on Tuesday evening from all of Iowa’s 99 counties. Tom Steyer and Tulsi Gabbard were on less than 1%.

But the state party has still not declared a winner from Monday’s vote. Democrats have blamed the delay on a coding error with an app being used for the first time to report the votes.

Iowa was the first contest in a string of nationwide state-by-state votes, known as primaries and caucuses, that will culminate in the crowning of a Democratic nominee at the party convention in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, in July.

Eleven candidates remain in a Democratic field that has already been whittled down from more than two dozen.

The results represent the share of delegates needed to clinch the party nomination under America’s quirky political system. Iowa awards only 41 of the 1,991 delegates required to become the Democratic White House nominee.

The popular vote

In the popular vote count, partial results showed Mr Sanders leading with 32,673 ballots, while Mr Buttigieg was second at 31,353.

However, Mr Buttigieg came top in certain rural areas with smaller populations, and so far has more delegates.

Ms Warren was third with 25,692, followed by Mr Biden at 16,447 and Ms Klobuchar at 15,470.

bbc world news

Αφήστε μια απάντηση

Η ηλ. διεύθυνση σας δεν δημοσιεύεται. Τα υποχρεωτικά πεδία σημειώνονται με *